Quad 3090 using Alphacool?

ASNielsen

Current setup: Asrock TRX40 Creator + AMD 3970x + 2x Inno3D 3090 iChill X3 with stock air-cooler.

I use the machine for ML, not for gaming.

I want to upgrade with additional 2x 3090 GPU's, but due to the size of the stock cooler, and the spacial constraints of the motherboard, there is not enough space for 4 air-cooled GPUs, so i'm looking at watercooling.

The Alphacool Eisblock 3090/3080 for reference design 3090 seems like a good waterblock option.

But is it possible to connect 4 of them? Should i use this Alphacool Eisblock Aurora Terminal ?

There is only a 1 slot gap between each PCIe 4.0 on the motherboard, so the cards will be quite close to one another.

Note, i have no experience building custom loop water-cooling, the CPU is currently watercooled, but AIO.

Eddy

Iceman
Staff member
The terminal is very helpful, yes. But if you want to use 4 graphics cards, I would plan the circuit well. That is, after the first two graphics cards, I would first go into a radiator with the water and then into the next two graphics cards. That's not absolutely necessary, but it makes for slightly better temperatures. In the server, we always go into a radiator only after 4 cards... but with 2080TIs. The 3090 has an extremely high amount of waste heat under full load.
But you will need a lot of radiator space if noise is an argument.

ASNielsen

Yea these cards run hot :D their standard TDP is 370w, but i run them at a 270w power limit. This only reduces the performance by 8-10%, but substantially lowers both the temperature and the noise with the stock air-cooler.

There is space for one 2x140mm and one 4x120mm radiator in the case, which seems sufficient to cool 4x 270w + 280w from the AMD 3970x? I am not looking to make an ultra super quiet system or do any overclocking.

Can the Alphacool PGX SLI QUAD be used to connect the four cards if also using the Alphacool Eisblock Aurora Terminal on each card?