Loop expansion advice, from Eiswolf 2 AIO

DirtyTT

Hi,

I recently purchased Eiswolf 2 AIO and it works great on my 3090, this has kinda made me curious to add my CPU into the same loop as it had quick-connect fittings on it.
However, I am very new to water-cooling and the fittings/tubing sizes, compatible fluids... etc confuse me greatly.

Could you advise me on what I need to get to add Alphacool Eisbaer (Solo) to the loop( fittings, fluid, tubes, something else)? Is there some other better option?
Additionally, how would I fill it, as the GPU loop is already full, do I need to match the liquids, or just connect it up and start filling it up with any liquid from αcool store?

Thanks

Eddy

Iceman
Staff member
I would recommend more radiator space if you like to add a CPU. Because the 3090 has a lot of waste of heat. Which CPU do you have?

DirtyTT

I would recommend more radiator space if you like to add a CPU. Because the 3090 has a lot of waste of heat. Which CPU do you have?
I have a 3800x but want to upgrade to 5900x in the future. However, my case phantex p400 does not support any additional rad mounts. I have a eiswolf in the front and the top mount is blocked by my memory modules.
Would a 360 rad really not be enough, I do not do anything besides gaming or occasional video editing on it? I can even rig it up for push pull with plenty of airflow.

Eddy

Iceman
Staff member
Well... if you want to have it silent and with good temperatures, no, one 360 is not enough. 3090 has peak ~ 400W waste of heat. 5900X is really worse to cool and also with over 100W waste of heat. For a good cooling performance we recomend not more than 120-150W waste of heat for each 120mm radiator space. So 450W for one 360mm Radiator.
Sure, you can also cool down over 2000W with one 360mm radiator, but you will need fans with more than 3000rpm.