Purchase advice for 2x3090 rtx3090 gigabyte turbo

jstefanis

Hello newbie here.
I have 2xrtx3090 gigabyte 24gb turbo cards and I'm considering about a water-cooling solution.
My question is what I need for watercooling each one in an AIO solution, and also if its better to create a custom configuration
for better cooling performance. What I'm looking for as a solution includes the cooling of the memory chips on the backside because gddr6x memory chips reach
really high temperatures . Can I combine an active backplate solution?
Kind regards, Ioannis

Marc-eting

Marc the Marc-eting Guy
Staff member
Hi Ioannis,
in your case I would recommend a costum watercooling. This way you are much more modular. You can also install the active backplates without any problems.

jstefanis

So, what should be needed for this custom set? I have no idea. Apart from that, Isn't 2x (Alphacool Eiswolf 2 AIO - 360mm RTX 3080/3090 Gaming/Eagle with Backplate + Alphacool Eisblock Aurora GPX-N Acryl Active Backplate 3080/3090 Gaming/Eagle) ok?
Is AIO set's pump insufficient for driving the extra active backplate?

Marc-eting

Marc the Marc-eting Guy
Staff member
If you were to take an AIO, you would have to cut the tubing to install a distributor for the active backplate. This will void the warranty. Also, with two AIOs, you have a lot of tubing in your system, which could interfere with airflow. (You could also upgrade the CPU)
I would therefore recommend a costum watercooling.

For this you need:

Radiator
Fan
Reservoir (with pump)
Cooling fluid
Tubes
Fittings (you can find the compatibility to the tubes in our store)
GPU Cooler
In your case Active Backplate (a distributor for that)

The rule of thumb for cooling is per 100tdp = 100mm cooling surface (120mm fan)
In your case that would be 2x rtx3090 that is 2x 350W, so 2x 360 radiator if it fits.
Alternatively 1x 360 and 1x 240 radiator. But that would be the minimum.

Rule of thumb for fittings always times two per tube.