Eisbaer Extreme 280 - noise of running water, pump noise (SOLVED - not an Alphacool issue ;-) )

Tived

Hi Alphacool,

just managed to install my two Extreme 280s into my threadripper 3960x with an Optimus CPU block

i am new to this so please bare with me, I keep hear running water? is that normal (no leaks!)

also I seem to have air in the system, I can see it in the CPU block? how do I resolve this

i Think it is the pump, they seem very noisy - I tried to do a cpu stress test, running at 4ghz+ I was hitting 67c degrees for 10 min, fans at 100% only have the 4 fans on the two alphacool

thank you for your help and time

Henrik

Last edited:

Eddy

Iceman
Staff member
Well, if you changed the CPU cooler han you have to fill the Eisbaer Extreme again. If you have air inside, than you didn`t fill the loop. You have an fillport on the EIsbaer Extreme and if you put water inside, shake everything and let the pump running outside of your pc. Please dont fill it inside your pc.

Tived

Thanks Eddy, I feel like I keep filling it but it’s only about 600ml so far so I keep topping it up.
After I send this message I could fit another 150ml

still learning- thanks for your help

Tived

Ok, I am back to learn more

the water tickling noise is gone, filled the loop up with more liquid.

however the jet engine noise is still there, whining noise. Around 50-55db measured from arms length 65db up close to the case.

i pulled both Eisbaer apart adjusted the pump from 3 to 2 and back 3 but that did not produce any less noise.

it’s a new system, threadripper and I am yet to work out all the settings and controls on the motherboard TRX40 DESIGNARE, I have plugged all plugs in, into fan headers - so unless the 4 pin’s are running full speed now, I am yet to work out how to control them.

what am I doing wrong here?

thanks

henrik

Eddy

Iceman
Staff member
Can you make a short video so we can hear the noise? Would help a lot.

Eddy

Iceman
Staff member